Scot MacDonald
9th Nov 2017

Parliamentary Secretary for Planning, the Central Coast and the Hunter Scot MacDonald MLC is encouraging councils which manage coastal and estuary environments to consider applying for the NSW Government's Coastal and Estuary Grants Program.

Speaking on Wednesday morning at the 26th NSW Coastal Conference on behalf of the Minister for the Environment The Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP, Mr MacDonald also announced the seven new members of the NSW Coastal Council who will provide independent advice to the Minister on coastal planning and management issues once the coastal reforms commence;

  • Professor Bruce Thom (Chair)
  • Kate Brooks
  • Ron Cox
  • Angus Gordon
  • William Glamore
  • Jane Lofthouse
  • Annelise Tuor 

The $63 million Coastal and Estuary Grants grant program is part of the NSW Government’s $83.6 million coastal reforms funding package to support Councils to implement works in their certified coastal zone management plans (CZMPs).

“These grants are designed to help councils protect their precious coastal areas,” Mr MacDonald said.

“The funding will help them to manage the risks from coastal hazards, such as coastal erosion, restore coastal habitats and improve the health of estuaries, wetlands and littoral rainforests.”

There are five streams under the program, including one for planning and studies (this is open year round) and four streams for implementing works listed in a certified Coastal Zone Management Plan (CZMP). 

This year the following activities can also be applied for whether a CZMP is certified or not:

  • beach scraping to mitigate immediate coastal erosion risk
  • management and stabilisation of dune systems
  • formalising or reducing the number of beach access points to reduce environmental damage/impact
  • estuarine riparian restoration
  • littoral rainforest regeneration
  • coastal wetland rehabilitation where an approved management plan for the site exists

Councils may apply for funding under the planning stream at any time during the 2017-18 financial year. Applications for funding under the four streams for implementing works are part of a contestable funding round each financial year.

Further information and application forms are available here: